Baked Ham and Sides

 

Bubba Keg Spriral Sliced Ham

Bubba Keg Spriral Sliced Ham

So, a while back I purchased a spiral sliced ham on sale.  When you normally pay $4.00 to $8.00 per pound at the deli counter, $1.49 per pounds is a pretty good deal, and hard to pass up.  I threw it in the  freezer, and today was the day to cook it. I let it thaw for 3 or 4 days, then Chris lit up the grill (the Bubba Keg), got it down to about 325.  I have a nice cake pan, the deep kind that you would use to make wedding cakes, you know?  Well, now, it is perfect for baking things on the keg.  No more cakes.  Well, maybe for Cayleigh & Chris.   After about 2 hours, this is what it looked like:

 

Maybe the temperature was a little higher than 325!  I wasn’t expecting it to look that, well, dry.  While the ham was baking on the grill, in the house I had some very delicous Avoyelles parish sweet potatoes baking in the oven.  They take about an hour and 15 minutes to cook long enough for the sugars to come bubbling out, like caramelized sugar.  I wrapped two beets in foil and threw them on the baking sheet also.  These baked at 350 for about an hour and 20 minutes.

When they were done, this is what they looked like this:

All they need is a little bit of fluffing, and some good butter.  These are so sweet, they actually taste like marshmallows.  Which leads me to believe that some years ago, somebody was trying to recreate the wonderful flavor of these beauties, a taste from the farm.  I always wondered who, and WHY, people started putting marshmallows on side dish, now, I think I know why.

With this Sunday dinner, a little coleslaw is a nice combination.  Cabbage is still in season, so, it’s a natural choice for a late january meal.  However, in this household, there are two coleslaw’s:  My coleslaw’s, and Mimi’s coleslaw (The Coco family coleslaw, which is required at all family events- Cochon d’laits or Mimi’s famous brisket – but those are for another day!)  Today, I decided to make both, because sometimes I like them both, and everybody’s happy!  Both salads require finely shredded cabbage.  You can purchase the pre-shredded cabbage, but even there angel hair cut is not as fine as what you can do in your own kitchen.  It does, however, require a very sharp knife.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

At the petting zoo.

Leave a Reply

