Red Lentil Soup

Ever since I first tasted Syrian Lentil Soup, years and years ago, I fell in love.  That soup was made with regular brown lentils, rice, spinach, garlic and lemon juice.  Years later I learned from family who worked in one Mediterranean restaurant was that commercial ascorbic acid provided the sharpness that I never could duplicate at home; lemon juice isn’t as sharp.  But, still delicious.  Over the years, I’ve read and heard about red lentils, french lentils, green lentils, yellow lentils, and now I’ve recently read about white lentils.  The only place I’d run across them was at Whole Foods, and never felt life paying their prices. At least, not for that.  However, last week, I was at my local IGA, Acquistapace’s, and they had recently stocked red lentils and green lentils.  So, since I’m trying to incorporate more of these lovely legumes (I love them for breakfast), I went ahead and picked up a bag of each, and a bag of regular lentils.  

 

A Variety of Lentils

A Variety of Lentils

Today, I made the Red Lentil Soup.  This is my second batch, the first went quickly.  I made a lot, so I’d be sure to have some for the freezer.  I love this soup.  It is light, yet filling, and easy on the stomach.

Red Lentil Soup:

  • 2 tablespoons olive oil and/or butter
  • 1 medium onion, minced
  • 1 1-inch piece ginger, peeled and minced
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 4 cups water, stock, or a combination of the two.
  • 1 teaspoon cumin
  • 1 teaspoon turmeric
  • 1/2 teaspoon paprika
  • 1 1/2 cups red lentils
  • 1/2 cup rice

Garnish:

  • juice of one lemon
  • yogurt or sour cream
  • cilantro or parsley

Mince the onion, ginger and garlic (or process coarsely in mini-food processor), and saute until translucent in olive oil/butter.  Add stock, rinsed and sorted beans, rice, cumin, turmeric, and paprika. I cooked this batch for about 2 1/2 hours, not even at  a simmer.  As the starch in the lentils breaks down, it is quite easy to scorch.    Thus, it also requires a good stirring every 20 minutes, more often at a higher temp. Add water and/or stock as needed.  I probably added another quart, because I wanted a juicy soup! Taste for salt and add as needed.  I added 1 tablespoon of kosher salt.  Makes about 6 quarts.  Freezes well.

The Main Components

The Main Components

a little butter AND a little olive oil

a little butter AND a little olive oil

Food processor makes easy work of mincing.

Food processor makes easy work of mincing.

Sauteed veggies underneath, lentils, rice and seasonings on top.

Sauteed veggies underneath, lentils, rice and seasonings on top.

The finished product, great freezer food!

The finished product, great freezer food!

One thought on “Red Lentil Soup

  1. That looks delicious. Mary made just regular brown lentil soup on Friday. It is delicious. I would like to try this. I’ll be on the lookout for a source for red lentils. I have a salad recipe for the green lentils that is just the green lentils, cooked with bay leaf and salt just til tender, Drain them and add chopped fresh mint, chopped red onion, goat cheese and a few dollops of goat cheese. Add some olive oil to smooth it all out and a little more salt and pepper. It’s yummy. You can eat it warm or cold.

Leave a Reply

