How to Freeze Stock

When  I first started making my own stock, all types, I used to freeze it in quart size containers.  But, more often than not, all I needed was a cup, or a half cup, or even just a few tablespoons of super rich beef stock.

Finally, one day, I had made a delicious beef stock.  I let reduce a lot, and then, I poured it into an ice cube tray for freezing.  I used to make C’s baby food and freeze it this way.  It was super convenient to be able to pull out a few ice cubes and let them thaw for one meal.

So, thereafter, I have taken to freezing stock (usually chicken), in a muffin tin, popping them out the next day and transferring them to a large ziploc bag.  Each frozen “muffin” is about a half cup, perfect for enriching gravies, cream sauces, and also adding to stir-fries.   C’s favorite is Beef & Broccoli, which is always better with a few tablespoons of beef or chicken stock instead of all soy sauce.

1/2 cup portions of homemade stock, ready for a freezer bag & into the freezer!

1/2 cup portions of homemade stock, ready for a freezer bag & into the freezer!

Hope this helps!

Leave a Reply

