Green Chili

wpid-20130315_200613.jpg

 

I always wanted to make this, and am not sure why I never did.  It was great!  We topped it with a little bit of sour cream, and scooped it up with corn chips.  A quick dinner when pulled out of the freezer.  I made this on the weekend (after raiding the freezer), and then froze the finished product in ziploc bags.  Also, I’m not saying that this is an authentic green chili by any means at all! but, it was very, very good.  I guess I never made it because I was afraid it wouldn’t be “authentic”.  Oh well.

Oh yes, I know it’s St. Patrick’s Day, my Irish husband would not be happy today if there were no Corned Beef & Cabbage, so, that is what I am making today!  I actually made the chili the other day, but, just getting around to posting it.  Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

Green Chili

  • 2 tablespoons olive or canola oil
  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 1 cooked leftover chicken breast, coarsely chopped in food processor
  • 1/2 pound ground pork
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 anaheim or banana pepper, chopped (jalapeno if you like)
  • 2 cups chicken stock
  • 1 4-ounce can chopped green chiles
  • 1 can cannellini, pinto, or garbanzo beans, drained and rinsed
  • 3/4 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground coriander
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon onion powder
  • water, as needed
  • salt & pepper
  • 1/4 to 1/2 cup stoneground grits (the yellow kind, also known as polenta)

Sweat onions in oil till translucent. A little sprinkle of salt will help them release their moisture.  Add the ground pork and brown. Add the garlic and chopped peppers and let cook down slowly for about 10 minutes, stirring every so often.

Add the chopped chicken (or more pork and/or whatever leftover chicken you may have) and green chilis, beans, chicken stock, cumin, coriander, garlic and onion powder.  If using store-bought stock, be sure to not add salt until the end.  Add more water as needed to cover.  Reduce heat let let simmer slowly for about an hour, covered.  I usually check the pot and stir about every 10 or 15 minutes.

When it looks “cooked down” enough to you, it will be time to add the grits.  This is just a thickener. and you can skip this step altogether, if it is not to the liking of you or your familiy. I usually add about this much grits to my regular chili because we like how it thickens the stew; doesn’t drip off the corn chip!

You may need to add a cup or two of water before adding the grits, so that it has water to absorb; let pot heat up again before adding grits.  I added 1/4 cup to start, and let it simmer about 20 minutes before adding a second 1/4 cup to get the chili a little thicker.  I have no idea what the “right” consistency is supposed to be, I only know what I think it should be.  Please do yours the way you like.  After adding grits, raise temp a  little so that it bubbles, and stir constantly, scraping the bottom often.  Grits are made from corn, and corn has lots of sugar, which WILL SCORCH! I speak from experience.  Stoneground grits usually take about 20 to 30 minutes to completely cook through, so, keep an eye on them and stir frequently, and add water if needed.  NOW taste for salt, and add appropriately.  I think I used about a half tablespoon kosher salt in mine.

Garnish with sour cream, cilantro, green onions or diced fresh or pickled jalapenos.  Enjoy! Corn chips are optional.

2 thoughts on “Green Chili

Leave a Reply

