Farmer’s Market Find: Fresh Red Beans

 I love my local Farmer’s Market.  I’ve been going since Cayleigh was an infant. DH went with me in the beginning, but now he just makes special requests (rich chocolate brownies!).  I haven’t been much in the past year, but have been twice in the last month.  Tomatoes are in!  and they are calling my name!  Yesterday, I purchased 4 different types of tomatoes:  a regular red, some really nice cherry tomatoes, orange tomatoes, and a yellow tomato with a fuzzy skin.  I sliced them up and turned them into a beautiful plate of marinated tomatoes.

Marinated Tomatoes

Marinated Tomatoes

Several of the farmers have been growing both green and golden zucchini.  I can’t say that there’s much difference in taste, but they do look pretty on a platter together.

Raw Zucchini Salad with Feta and Oregano

Raw Zucchini Salad with Feta and Oregano

The other thing I found was some fresh red kidney beans.

Fresh Kidney Beans

Fresh Kidney Beans

These I’m going to shell and simmer for dinner today! Looking forward to it.  There is only one or two vendors who do grow beans.   Usually, Mr. H. grows a “horticulture” bean, which looks like the cranberry bean.  I sure wish someone would grow some purplehull peas!

Shelled Fresh Red Beans

Shelled Fresh Red Beans

Finished Fresh Red Beans

Finished Fresh Red Beans

I haven’t been going to the Farmer’s Market much lately, but the thought of the summer tomatoes got me there.  We went early, to get the good stuff.  It was so crowded.  I don’t think I’ve seen it that busy in all the years I’ve been going.   When we went back at 11 am, things were winding down, and much of the produce was sold out.  Even Cayleigh’s favorite popsicles, Avocado Cream, were sold out.  By 11:30 or so, most vendors were closing up.

On a sad note, one of the original main draws for us was Buzzy’s Jelly’s.  Buzzy passed away a few years ago, but her husband continued to make her many jellies and preserves.  Longipe Gum Jelly, Mayhaw Jelly, Muscadine, Blackberry Jelly and Preserves, Blueberry Jelly and Preserves, Orange Marmalade, several different pepper jellies, and some he also made sugarfree.  This is not all, just some that he made.  He grew almost everything, and was still planting new bushes a few summers ago – thornless blackberries, to protect his hands. Sometime last fall, he entered a home, and his son continued making the jellies and preserves, but said he would not continue making the preserves.  When we went yesterday, the spot  for Buzzy’s Jelly’s was empty – no table, no tent.  Apparently, his son sold the business or the house, not sure which.  But sadly, our source of jellies is gone.  And Mr Webb?  Not sure, as there is no one to give updates on his health.  It was his blueberry and pepper jellies that drew us to the farmer’s market in the beginning, and kept us going back all year long.  Cayleigh’s favorite is the blueberry jelly.  Long before she could read, she could correctly pick out her jar of blueberry jelly from the many jars on his table.

2 thoughts on “Farmer’s Market Find: Fresh Red Beans

  1. Great post. The tomato salad looks lovely. I’m curious to know how the beans turned out. I’ve never had them fresh. I’m on the lookout for purple hull peas around here. They should be coming in soon.

    • The beans turned out pretty good. Although fully cooked, they still had a little “greenish” taste, not unlike a fresh pea (blackeye or purplehull). I just used a half an onion, 1 tsp of salt, 1/2 teaspoon beef base (at the end), and to give it more juice without watering it down at the end, added 1/2 cup chicken stock (homemade, so it wasn’t too salty).

      Turns out, my neighbor is also growing fresh red beans, so, I’ll get to cook some soon again!

Leave a Reply

