Tabouli

Tabouli. Surely you’ve heard of it.  Maybe you haven’t tried it.  But, when it’s hot outside, it’s an excellent side dish to some grilled meats.  More cold sides in summer, awesome idea!

Tabouli

Tabouli

Tabouli is a little time consuming to make, but honestly, I usually make way too much.  So, this time, I deliberately set out to make less.

Start with the wheat first:

  • 1 cup cracked wheat, #1 or #2 (I prefer #1, the smaller cracked wheat)
  • 1 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 2 cups water, boiling hot

I started with the cracked wheat, 1 cup.  Added 1 teaspoon kosher salt.  Add about 2 cups boiling hot water.  Let sit for about 10 minutes.  Taste the wheat.  If it needs more water, add a little more boiling water.  If you put too much water, you can always drain it off.  Also, if you add a tablespoon of some olive oil while the wheat is still hot, it makes the wheat a little extra creamy.  Which is nice sometimes!

  • 1/2 bunch parsley, minced fine
  • 1 or 2 cloves garlic, minced fine
  • 3 to 6 green onions, chopped fine
  • 2 to 4 tablespoons mint
  • 2 to 3 tomatoes, diced fine (about 1 1/2 cups)
  •  2 tablespoons lemon juice
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil

While the wheat is “cooking”, chop the vegetables.  The quantities are pretty flexible.  Some people like a really green salad.  A lot of restaurants use a wheat-heavy salad, with few tomatoes and onions.  Trust me, what they make at home is probably more veggie-laden. I like mine pretty green, so sometimes I use the whole bunch of parsley, but today, I needed the other half for something else.  Also, I have a lot of tomatoes on hand, thanks to the farmer’s market.  I got there late again this week (11:30), and they were sold out of sooo much!  Peaches and blueberries were gone!  But, there were still plenty of tomatoes, eggplant, peppers to be had.  I was able to get two types of tomatoes this time, a small yellow cherry tomato and the regular large red ones, that are delicious and remind me of my grandfather’s tomatoes.

Combine all ingredients.  Taste for salt, and add more if necessary, and more lemon juice if desired.  Better after sits for a little while.  Serve with, anything!

(I use both spearmint and peppermint, because even after taking a facebook poll amongst knowing friends and family, I’m still undecided.  And, they are both growing rampant in my yard.  Did I mention rampantly growing?)

Leave a Reply

