Broccoli Salad

I’ve heard that this is a pretty popular salad.   My aunt started making it about 10 years ago, and it didn’t take me long to ask for the recipe.  I brought it to a few office functions, and had many requests for the recipe.  I’ve even been given the recipe back in turn, but it had been changed.  I still get asked to bring this to functions.  I got a little burnt out on making it.  It’s really not any more detailed or involved than any other recipe, and the investment is well worth the dividends.

I made it for a recent family dinner, only because someone requested it.  Everyone was happy to see it, and it was the only dish that had no leftovers.  One cousin even said that the only Brocoli Salad she liked was the one I made.  Not sure why, but it is a great combination.  Make it for a function, and see what happens.

image

I like to cut my broccoli pretty small. I start at the bottom of the stalk and work my way up to the florets.

After removing the bottom inch or two of the main stalk, I removie the outer skin, and then chop into 1/4 to 1/2 inch pieces. Often discarded, the stalk is actually sweeter and nuttier than the florets. They make the best soup.

image

It took 2 bunches of broccoli florets to get 6 cups of chopped broccoli.

To that you will need:

3/4 cup sunflower seeds, toasted
3/4 cup red onion, finely minced
3/4 cup bacon pieces
3/4 cup sweetened dried cranberries

1 cup Hellman’s mayonnaise
1/4 cup honey
1/4 cup red wine vinegar

Combine the vinegar and honey and mix with a whisk to dissolve the honey. It is important to do this before adding the (cold) mayonnaise, which will harden the mayonnaise.

Set this aside while you prepare the broccoli, bacon and onion.

To dress or not to dress?

I usually try to toss the salad and dressing about one to two hours before serving. Some find that the bacon becomes soggy. On the other hand, some prefer it the next day, like a good gumbo.

Buen Provecho!

2 thoughts on “Broccoli Salad

Leave a Reply

