Easy Homemade Tartar Sauce

Lucky me!  Visiting my inlaw’s this weekend to stock the freezer, and got invited to a fish fry at an aunt’s house.   The fish were caught by her son-in -law who lives down in Terrebonne Parish, practically in the Gulf.   The only thing I have to make?  Tartar sauce!  Since I’m picky about my tartar sauce (and sometimes eat fish just for the excuse of eating tartar sauce), I was happy to oblige.

Long ago, I discovered capers.  I found that capers easily make a great tartar sauce.  The only things needed to accompany them are a little onion, and some kind of pickle.  Sweet or dill is your choice.  I used bread and butter pickles today, because that is what was in the fridge.

  • 1/4 cup red, white, or yellow onion
  • 1 tablespoon capers
  • 2 tablespoons sweet relish or dill cornichons ( I used bread & butter pickles cause that’s what we had)
  • 1/2 teaspoon dry dill
  • 1 tablespoons lemon juice
  • 1 1/2 cups your favorite mayonnaise (Hellman’s is what we used)

image

image

Either finely mince the vegetables by hand, or throw all the vegetables in a small food processor and process until just minced.

Add the dill (if using), and mix well.  Store for at least one hour before serving.  Can be prepared the day before.  The family really enjoyed this sauce, too!

I wish I had a picture of the fish; they were beautiful! and the tartar sauce was delicious…

Personally, I like a little less pickle…maybe it was the bread and butter.  Still, a great combination with for any fish.

Buen Provecho!

One thought on “Easy Homemade Tartar Sauce

  1. Pingback: Shrimping in Louisiana: First Day of Shrimping Season | icookforleftovers

Leave a Reply

