Balsamic Fig & Onion Jam

NOTE:  Updated and with directions!

What happens when you follow your recipe notes, knowing that it’s not the recipe you normally make, but make it anyway?  Well, you don’t end up with the same thing, that’s for sure.

This was supposed to be my Balsamic Fig and Onion Chutney, but it is no where near that.  This is a very delicious, very sweet fig jam.  My mother was visiting when I made this, and after her first taste, she said, it’s too sweet.  Which my chutney is not.  So while this is delicious, and if you have a plethora of fresh figs, give this a try.  If you are looking for something a little different, please try the other Balsamic Fig & Onion Chutney, which is my most popular preserve (I think I’ve made it about 6 times over 4 years.)

  • 2 cups onion, chopped
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • 1 1/4 cups brown sugar
  • 2 pounds fresh figs, quartered if small (cut smaller if large West Coast figs)
  • 1 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1 1/2 cups balsamic vinegar

Saute the onions in the olive oil and butter.  Add the quarterd figs, the brown sugar, salt and balsamic vinegar.  Bring to a simmer, stirring frequently until sugar is fully dissolved.

wpid-imagejpeg_2.jpg

wpid-imagejpeg_3.jpg

image

Here, the syrup is finally developing, but the figs still have quite a lot of cooking to do.

image

At this point, they are close.  Getting close to jam stage.  The figs are simmering here, and do still require a gentle stirring to prevent scorching and sticking to the bottom.

image

Look how much they’ve cooked down!  Ready for canning and processing.

I originally cut the figs in halves, but as it was cooking I realized that I’ve always cut them in quarters, so I quartered quite a few in the pot as it was cooking.  Even for our small southern figs, these should be quartered.

This filled 10 four-ounce jars.  I prefer the four-ounce jars because it is the perfect amount for a small get together.

To keep the jars for storage, process them in a water bath canner for 10 minutes (rolling boil).  If you use eight-ounce jars, process for 15 minutes.  I always process my products for a safer, longer shelf-life.

Buen Provecho!!

4 thoughts on “Balsamic Fig & Onion Jam

    • You can saute them for about 15 minutes. then add the rest. I find it takes about the same amount of time as any preserve or jelly, about 45 minutes to an hour to reduce to a good thickness.

  1. I had a lot of figs leftover and was going to travel, so I froze them. I am going to try this recipe with the frozen fruit. It looks like it will work. If it is a mess, you have heard the last of me!

    • Funny. I usually freeze my figs on cookie sheets before throwing them gallon freezer bags. I also (usually) weigh the figs out in 4#batches, either before freezing or after, 4 # seems to be the most common weight for many preserves if various fruits.

      Hope it turns out well.

Leave a Reply

