Why did the chicken cross the road?

Why did the chicken cross the road?

101_0297 cay with chick

I’ll tell you one possible reason.

We have chickens.  A few years ago, we had quite a lot of them: 17 hens and 2 nasty roosters. One of my favorite hens was a small bantam, I believe she was a gold-laced Wyandotte, who looked more like a pigeon than a chicken, but, yes, she did lay a small chicken egg everyday. She was always distant and flighty, because everybody wanted a piece of her: the kids want to pet her (not), the dog wants to catch her (no, no!), and the roosters,…um, well, let’s just say that the bantam has moved herself out of the henhouse, refusing to go in there. And my husband and I don’t have the heart to put her in there. So, she’s becoming friendlier to humans, living on the front porch, practically being hand-fed and squatting to be petted.  Everynight, she would go to sleep on the porch.  Usually, she would get up in the rafters, but if she didn’t, we would move her there just to keep her safe.

One day, as I was leaving, I pulled out on the road, glanced in my rear-view mirror, and there was my banty, walking down the road following my car, like a cat or a dog following their owner.

I called my husband to go pick her, and sure enough, she let him pick her up because she couldn’t figure out how to cross the ditch and get back “home”.

And that’s why my chicken crossed the road!

2 thoughts on “Why did the chicken cross the road?

  1. Hi, I just noticed your comment! I loved our bantams, but they are definitely more flighty. I didn’t think they’d leave, though! So sorry! That was the only year we ended up with bantams, and it was funny because we actually ended up with a male/female pair of one type (like a dominick) and a male/female pair of the wyandotte, by pure chance; they had the chicks all mixed up and he just picked out 2 dozen. That was the year I learned that birds of a feather really do flock together!!

Leave a Reply

