Distinctively Louisiana: Muscadine Pepper Jelly

Delish!!

Muscadines...

Muscadines…

 

and more muscadines...

and more muscadines…

 

wpid-wp-1399388617396.jpeg

 

Muscadine juice has a beautiful hue of pink.

Muscadine juice has a beautiful pink hue.

 

3 jalapenos and 1/3 of a red bell pepper, diced fine.  Seeds or no seeds? Your choice.  Using the seeds yields a mild jelly, equivalent to Pace mild salsa.

3 jalapenos and 1/3 of a red bell pepper, diced fine. Seeds or no seeds? Your choice. Using the seeds yields a mild jelly, equivalent to Pace mild salsa.

 

In the beginning, it looks like a lot of peppers....

In the beginning, it looks like a lot of peppers….

 

But, after boiling for the requisite time..doesn't look like so much.

But, after boiling for the requisite time..doesn’t look like so much.

 

The two tablespoons that didn't fit...yay for taste tests!

The two tablespoons that didn’t fit…yay for taste tests!

 

I think muscadine jelly is my favorite...with peppers or without!

I think muscadine jelly is my favorite…with peppers or without!

 

Muscadine Pepper Jelly….

If you are a fan of muscadine jelly, but have never heard of muscadine pepper jelly, this is a real treat for you.  Muscadine jelly is a very light sweet jelly that is perfectly complemented by a few jalapenos, and that combination later compliments a wide assortment of flavors down the road. 

Let’s go beyond cream cheese and ritz crackers, people!

Muscadine Pepper Jelly

  • 5 cups muscadine juice
  • 7 cups sugar (I only used 6)
  • 1 package pectin

 

To learn how to extract the juice, please refer to instructions here:  http://www.pickyourown.org/muscadinejelly.htm

(I got lucky and my neighbor’s son-in-law invested in a “juice extractor”.  I might have to get one of my own!)

I had about 4 ½ pounds of muscadines that had been frozen all winter.  This is from one well-packed gallon bag. The grapes do freeze well until you are ready to  make the juice.  The typical yield of one gallon or 4 to 5 pounds is between 4 to 5 cups of juice.  Most recipes call for 5 cups of juice, and the sweetness of the juice does allow you to add water or another juice such as apple to reach the necessary 5 cups.  I used cranberry juice, since that is what I had on hand.  My muscadines yielded 4 1/2 cups of juice. I added 1/2 cup of cranberry juice to make 5 cups.  The recipe on the package of pectin calls for 5 cups of juice to 7 cups of sugar to 1 package of pectin, but I only used 6 cups of sugar. To that I added the above mentioned peppers at the very beginning of cooking.

  1. Measure out 5 cups of juice and add to a large non-reactive kettle.
  2. Chop your peppers, with some seeds.  I removed the inner membranes, as that is where the real heat is, and I did want to keep this in the mild range. Add to the juice
  3. Add the pectin to the juice and the peppers. Bring to a rolling boil.
  4. Add all the sugar at once.  Stir until the sugar is dissolved, and return to a rolling boil.  Boil at a rolling boil (a boil that cannot be stirred down) for 1 minute and 15 seconds.
  5. Remove the jelly from the heat.
  6. I had my jars washed and dried, and “sterilizing” keeping warm in the oven while I was making the jelly.  The lids and ring were sitting in a pot of hot water, simmering, waiting to go be plopped down on the hot jelly.
  7. Fill the jars with the hot jelly; use the canning funnel. 
  8. Make sure to wipe the rims with a wet towel before putting lids and rings on.
  9. Process in a water bath for 5 minutes to properly seal for a longer shelf life. (*So you don’t kill your friends!)

Yield:   normally, this yields about 8 8-ounce jars.  Since I added the pepper (and probably added my cranberry juice than I thought), I actually got 9 9-ounce jars and 2 4-ounce jars.  Those were my “extras,” just in case .  More to share!

To learn more about muscadines in the south:

http://www.lsuagcenter.com/NR/rdonlyres/F3F2CB11-77F5-4A74-98B6-36A7C92CDB3F/76551/pub2422muscadineHIGHRES.pdf

2 thoughts on “Distinctively Louisiana: Muscadine Pepper Jelly

    • Thanks! Just as an FYI, this is not that spicy. It’s on level with Pace mild picante sauce or Frito Bean dip, if that. The hotter level recipes call for 4 to 10 jalapeños, with membranes, or for habaneros instead. Those recipes can be found on a great website called pepperfool.com.

      This is more of a savory-sweet with a little kick.

Leave a Reply

