Lentil, Arborio and Kale Soup with Preserved Lemon

 

A pictorial recipe….If you have made preserved lemons, and are looking for ways to use them up, here is one.  Be sure to NOT salt the soup, as the preserved lemons should have enough salt to season the whole pot.  Enjoy!

 

Preserved Meyer Lemon, a few months old.  They have a nice salted twang to them.

Preserved Meyer Lemon, a few months old. They have a nice salted twang to them.  Remove the flesh, and dice the peel.

 

 

The preserved lemons back when I first made them.

The preserved lemons back when I first made them in January.

 

 

The kale I've been growing in my neighbor's garden.

The kale I’ve been growing in my neighbor’s garden. Absolutely lovely!

Starting with a trinity of onion, bell pepper, carrots and celery.  Saute in olive oil till tender.

Starting with a trinity of onion, bell pepper, carrots and celery. Saute in olive oil till tender.

 

 

I added 1 cup of regular lentils (brown or green), and 1/2 cup of black.

I added 1 cup of regular lentils (brown or green), and 1/2 cup of black lentils.

 

To that, I added 1 quart of homemade chicken stock (it was on hand; water is fine) and one 14.5-ounce can of tomato sauce.  Add a bay leaf, optional.

To that, I added 1 quart of homemade chicken stock (it was on hand; water is fine) and one 14.5-ounce can of tomato sauce. Add a bay leaf, optional. Cook for about 30 minutes, then add about 1/2 cup Arborio rice (optional).  Add more water as needed.

 

After the rice is cooked.  Add more water to give the soupy consistency  you desire ( I added about 6 cups).  I then added the chopped kale and diced preserved lemon peel, and let it simmer for another 20 minutes.  Let cool, and serve. Freezes well.

After the rice is cooked, after about 45 minutes. Add more water to give the soupy consistency you desire ( I added about 6 cups). I then added the chopped kale and diced preserved lemon peel, and let it simmer for another 20 minutes. Let cool, and serve. Freezes well.

 

wpid-wp-1396891202994.jpeg

Lentil and Rice Soup with Preserved Lemon

 

and...topped with a little bit of cheese.

and…topped with a little bit of cheese.  ‘Cause cheese makes everything better!

Leave a Reply

