Fresh Fish with Preserved Lemon Persillade

Three good things:

  • Friends who share freshly caught fish with you (filleted and all!)
  • How delicious preserved lemons are throughout the year…
  • Knowing how to combine the two into a fabulously yummy lunch!

What is persillade? According to the dictionary, it is simply a sauce that contains parsley- chiefly, olive oil and parsley.  It is usually served over potatoes – but, it is also delicious over meats and fish (and lentils! of course.)

The fish that was given to me I believe was Spanish Mackerel, which are abundant in the waters of the Gulf of Mexico.   Apparently, they can be quite large, but, these were small.  Tasty!  Just perfect for me.

 

Beautiful fresh fish, straight from the Gulf.

Beautiful fresh fish, straight from the Gulf.  Drizzle with a little olive oil, and salt and pepper (I actually used Adobo, one of my favorite all-purpose seasonings when I’m in a hurry).

 

It only takes about 10 minutes to bake this little filets of mackerel.

It only takes about 10 minutes at 350 degrees to bake these little fillets of mackerel.

 

To make the dressing – a persillade, a chimichurri- call it what you will, but, it is super easy to make with preserved lemons or fresh lemons (just use the zest and lemon juice of 1 lemons), and packs a ton of flavor.  This can be easily increased, just add a little bit more of everything.  It’s one of the things I just “eyeball” when I make it.  If using preserved lemons, do NOT add salt!!  If using fresh lemon juice and zest, you may need to add a little bit of salt.

In a small food processor (or, chop finely by hand), you will need:

2 cloves of garlic, a handful of fresh parsley, and about a 1/4 to a 1/2 of a preserved lemon.

2 cloves of garlic, a handful of fresh parsley, and about a 1/4 to a 1/2 of a preserved lemon, and, a drizzle of olive oil after it is “chopped”, not a total puree.

 

The finished sauce, a nice bright green; I added a little extra olive oil to thin out the sauce.

The finished sauce, a nice bright green; I added a little extra olive oil to thin out the sauce.

 

To take for a work lunch, I placed a cooked filet on some lettuce. The sauce traveled separately, only because I've had problems with sauces leaking in regular lunch containers.  The sauce traveled separately, and I placed it on about an hour before lunch to let the fish soak in the flavors.

To take for a work lunch, I placed a cooked filet on some lettuce. The sauce traveled separately, only because I’ve had problems with sauces leaking in regular lunch containers. The sauce traveled separately, and I placed it on about an hour before lunch to let the fish soak in the flavors.

 

Who said a lunch at work had to be ordinary?

And, why did I take this for lunch, and not serve it to my family?  While the fish was superfresh, some people are a little picky about seafood (limited!), but, my daughter did try the fish fresh from the oven, and loved it..so, progress!

This does not have to be served over lettuce, but would be great served with some steamed and parsleyed potatoes, garlicky green beans, or a nice tomato salad.

Buen Provecho!

 

 

 

One thought on “Fresh Fish with Preserved Lemon Persillade

Leave a Reply

