On hiatus for a while…Kitchen is closed temporarily.

There’s always a silver lining behind t he clouds, right?

Ask me that in a month or two.

wpid-wp-1420548168124.jpeg

We’ve always said that we should have redone the kitchen first, as it is our most used room.  Over ten years later, nearly the entire house has been redone, and we were finally starting to plan out the kitchen.

Well, one leaky pipe, some moldy wood, and we’re getting a new kitchen.  Cabinets, walls, and floors.  Since we are doing it all ourselves, it will take a while.

It hasn’t even been a week since I’ve been without a sink or stove, and I’m already having food dreams! Believe it or not, I don’t think I’ve ever dreamt about food.

Fortunately, I have wonderful friends and neighbors whose kitchen I can cook in on the weekends, so at least we’re not eating too much junk food and take out.  Putting in the cabinet for the kitchen sink is first.

I feel like I’m down, but not out for the count!

wpid-wp-1420548153681.jpeg

The only bad thing about the timing of all this is that I had just picked over 7 gallons of sweet, ripe Meiwa kumquats. Already gave half of them away….no pepper marmalade this year.

3 thoughts on “On hiatus for a while…Kitchen is closed temporarily.

  1. Awww, we just finished going through that process. In fact, last night, two months to the day, the kitchen was finished. Yes, we did it all ourselves, too. I kept my readers engaged through the process by reblogging old posts, but I was able to squeeze in some new recipes and appliances, etc. became available. Hang in there!

  2. Congratulations! I could see it lasting 2 months, but I hope not! The pipe is fixed, now it’s just to finish the unfinished cabinets, float and paint the sheetrock…and a few more things. There’s always more! I’m very grateful that our microwave is also a convection oven, and, I’m loving my neglected electric skillet.

Leave a Reply

